Wonder Boi Writes

My New Office

So I wanted to take a week off from hawking my new release, Does She Love You? to talk about a different new thing I have in my life right now.  It’s a new office!

When Jackson starts school in the fall, I will spend a lot of time bawling my eyes out. Then at some point I will turn my energy toward the goal of becoming a full-time writer. To help foster this transition (and keep me from collapsing into a total bundle of sniveling weepiness), my wonderful wife has set to work on turning our guest room into an office for me.

The first part of the process began when Susie decided she could do better than the mismatched bookshelves in our guest room.  Aside from being cheap and limited in space, they also ate up a lot of our floor plan and didn’t look very nice.  So Susie built me a more uniform and space-saving system.

DSCN0032

Have I ever mentioned how much I love it when this woman uses power tools?  Well, I love it a lot.  I also love the results, in this case a series of book shelves that run around the ceiling of my entire office.  I of course then put the books in order by genre.

DSCN0030

Then Susie’s mother got us a beautiful wardrobe for Christmas.  It’s huge so we had to wait for her mom and sister to drive it out in a big SUV.  Then it languished on the porch for a while until our friends Peter and Dustin came to help us move it up the stairs.  Try as we might, it wouldn’t go, so Susie and I took the entire thing apart, carried it up piece by piece, and reassembled it in the office.  Whew!

IMG_0715

But that wasn’t enough for my girl. Once she got it all together again, she converted the inside of the wardrobe into a work station for me.  She made a pullout tray for my laptop, a space for all my files, and various shelves for my diplomas, pictures, and supplies.  She made cubby holes for bookmarks and envelopes, and a drawer for pens, pencils, staples, etc.  She turned this antique treasure into a modern office piece that still looks like it belongs in a bedroom (when it’s closed).  Check it out!

IMG_0714

Next, Jackson decided he was old enough for a big boy bed, so we moved the twin day bed into his room, and Susie fitted the old crib side to serve as a headboard for a full-size bed for the office. I know, a bed in the office of a romance writer, let the jokes fly, but I do my best work in bed 😉 I have to be comfortable to write, and by the way our guests still need a place to sleep when they visit.

Finally, after hearing me talk for days about my endless jealously over the big dry-erase board Georgia Beers has in her office, Susie, the creative genius that she is, came up with a way to get me the same results without breaking her vision of the office or spending a dime.  She found a large, old  window in our basement, repainted the trim, and hung it on the wall in my office.  Voila!

IMG_0813

We added the final touches by hanging pictures of me and other authors on the wall to help me stay focused on  the fact that I am a writer working in an office (not a childless mother crying in a guest room).  The final results are that we took a space that looked like this:

DSCN0027

And turned it in to this:

IMG_0811

And a space that looked like this:

DSCN0025

And turned it in to this:

IMG_0868

I’ve got a pretty awesome and crafty wife, no?

I’ve also now got a space of my own to start the very scary and exciting next stage in my life/career!

August 7, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

12 Comments »

  1. She is so epic. LOOKS GREAT!!

    Comment by Lynda Sandoval | August 7, 2013 | Reply

  2. That is some damn fine sexy craftiness. I will go to the Restore to get a window like that and ask my Susana to do the same for me. Our gals are mighty sexy with their toys…er I meant tools. Good for you and her!

    Comment by J.c. Wordsmith | August 7, 2013 | Reply

  3. Wow! This should be on some home make-over show. Nice, nice job Susie! It looks so well organized and I am totally jealous of those wrap-around the room shelves. Rachel—let those writing ideas flow from all the love that was put into that room.

    Comment by solargrrl | August 7, 2013 | Reply

  4. Beautiful space–great work! I do find that environment has a huge impact on my productivity, and expect you’ll be rockin’ it in that office. 🙂

    Comment by Jen Campbell | August 7, 2013 | Reply

  5. much awesomeness happening in that room! and the full-time writer thing is awesome as well, for you and for your readers. that room is so…peaceful. here’s to it inspiring lots of creativity! ~allie

    Comment by ramengrrl | August 7, 2013 | Reply

  6. Wow, you guys could be on one of those home redecorating shows. Your wife is some handywoman. Beautiful room!

    Comment by Lor Janos | August 7, 2013 | Reply

  7. […] in my home office. Coincidentally, my pal and fellow author, Rachel Spangler just posted a blog about her fancy new office space and I thought it would be fun to discuss everyone’s favorite […]

    Pingback by Romper Room | Women and Words | August 7, 2013 | Reply

  8. Love the timeline on this! Yay for your new office!

    Comment by Yvonne Heidt | August 7, 2013 | Reply

  9. So freaking awesome, Rachel! And Susan is amazing!!! Good luck writing in the new room – and with the plans and bright future. I for one am bouncing at the thought of reading anything new by you. *rubbing hands* 🙂 I also have a new study in the making. Health is keeping me from adding to it right now, but it will be done. So say we all! 🙂

    Comment by Gun Brooke | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  10. awesome work

    Comment by Julie-Anne Spencer | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  11. I absolutely LOVE this new office! Suz – you’re awesome. Now get over here to my house and help me! 🙂

    Comment by Marcea Seible | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  12. Utilising the walls for storage is one way of conserving space in your home office. Anyway, thanks for the heads up. Great job for this one.

    Comment by Regus | October 22, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

