Wonder Boi Writes

11 Things

There’s a new trend on Facebook where people give you a number, and you’re supposed to list that number of random facts about yourself, things most people won’t know.  I have been tagged too many times to count, and in too many places to list, so I decided to make this a on stop response. Here are 11 random things about me:

1.  I was scared of everything for most of my youth. I didn’t ride a rollercoaster until I was 16. I hated missing out on so many experiences that one day I just decided I wouldn’t do it any more. I still hate roller coasters, but I ride them all the time just to prove myself that I won’t let fear keep me from doing cool shit.

2.  Most people gain weight after having a baby, I did it the other way around. I was overweight through college, but grew increasingly embarrassed of pictures taken right after Jackson was born. Then as he became mobile I worried I’d miss out on his life if I couldn’t keep up. I became relentless about getting in shape and dropped 1/5th of my body weight. I don’t like exercising or eating right but being active part of his life is worth the effort.

3.  I’m extremely sensitive to physical or emotional pain in others. I have to guard myself against violent images. I never watch horror movies because once I see something it never goes away. I still have nightmares about cartoons I saw as a child. Things other people don’t even notice will bother me for years.

4.  I was born prematurely and too small so I spent the first weeks of my life in an incubator. I think this is the reason I have such a weakened immune system. I can go from completely healthy to dangerously sick in an hour. I’m a bleeder, a bruiser, and I will throw up for virtually no reason.

5.  I also credit the time in the incubator as part of the reason touch is my love language. I crave physical contact. I’m a hugger, a hand shaker, a lap sitter, and most of my close friends have been asked to play with my hair on more than one occasion.

6.  I almost never drink alcohol, and when I do it’s never more than one drink.  Addiction runs in my bloodline, and I refuse to put my wife and son through that. My obsessive streak does manifest itself in a myriad of other ways though.

7.  My gender identity is beyond complicated, and I’m trying to come to terms with the fact that it might never be “resolved.” In a perfect world I’d have top surgery tomorrow, but I’ve already pushed my friends and family, and community further than anyone has a right to, so while they’ve all been awesome I feel guilty asking for more.

8.  I crush on a variety of women very easily. Smart girls beat hot girls any day, but if you can combine them both I’m a gonner. Thankfully, no one has ever tripped those triggers for me better than my wife.

9.  I met my wife at 17, started dating her at 19, and married at 21. I consider this the greatest of my many good fortunes. I joke I made one really good decision at a very young age and haven’t had to make another one since then, but honestly every good thing in my life from that day forward can be tied back to moment I said, “I do.”

10.  Being a parent is the most wonderful thing I’ve ever done. It’s also the hardest. I feel like I’m constantly messing him up, but he remains resiliently amazing. I want to take credit for his good qualities, but I suspect he’s just a miracle. Either way, I love that kid so much it hurts my chest sometimes.

11.  I’m a Christian. Every good thing I ever do is guided by the principle that I have been blessed with love in abundance, given freely and without an ounce of deserving on my part.  When you think that way, it’s impossible to deny the same to others. That belief alone is responsible for the majority of my worldview.

November 15, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Thank you for sharing. The more I learn about you, the more I respect and admire you. So there.

    Comment by Cheri The Rev | November 15, 2013 | Reply

  2. Truly a fascinating list of things. IT tells me a lot about you in very little space. Happy to have met you in P town

    Comment by Kathleen Knowles (@415kathleenk) | November 15, 2013 | Reply

  3. Interesting thoughts on the incubator! I’m also a premie that was in the hospital for quite some time AND a hugger, toucher… I never put the two together! Thanks!!

    Comment by Barb D. | November 15, 2013 | Reply

  4. Rachel, I admire your willingness to be open about some amazing parts of you. As has been said before, the more I get to know you, the more I admire you. Thanks for your willingness to be an open book for our community. If I can find your email, I’ll send you an email also. YOU ROCK!

    Ona

    Comment by onamarae | November 15, 2013 | Reply

  5. Thank you so much for sharing!!!! You are amazing!!!

    Comment by Susan Champeau | November 15, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

