Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs of Christmas: Day 17 – Little Town of Bethlehem

We’re getting deep into Advent now. My soul senses the spirit stirring.  A gathering energy. At one point today while wrapping presents I felt the overwhelming urge to pray. I dropped to my knees right there in my office, and then words failed me.  I had nothing really to say, so instead I stared out the window over mountains of snow and watched smoke rise from my neighbor’s chimney.

I wonder if that’s how it felt that first Christmas.  An energy, a stirring, the sense that something was happening, even if those in Bethlehem that night lacked the words to articulate what they were feeling.

“How silently, how silently, the wondrous gift is given. And G-d inparts to human hearts the blessing of His heaven.  No ear may hear His coming, but in this world of sin, where meek soul will receive Him still, the dear Christ enters in.”

December 17, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

