Wonder Boi Writes

25 songs of Christmas: Dec 19 – Almost There

I am pretty well versed in Christmas songs, as least the Christian ones. I was raised on a lot of contemporary Christian music and in a traditionally religious household. It’s rare that I find new ones at all, much less new ones that speak to me like the ones of my youth, but it happened today. I have to admit, it came from a pretty likely source in Amy Grant and Michael W. Smith, two artists I grew up with. I had an almost teen fanboi moment when I saw they had a new duet this season, but felt a bit of disappointment that it wasn’t one of the classic hymns. I should have known better.

But before I go into the details of the song itself I feel like I need back up and admit I had a bit of a relapse yesterday after several days of growing in The Spirit and the joy of the season. I’ve been able to take some really positive steps with my family like focusing on hand made gifts, and donating food and goods to our favorite charity. Jackson has begun to sing sweetly with our nightly carols. I’ve seen signs of hope in the news of the expansion of the Olympic Charter and my home state’s move to ban hydro fracking, and the normalizing of relationships with Cuba. Spending Hannukah with a little friend helped too. I was on a good run.

Then I hit a wall.

I’m not sure why I slipped so far so fast again, but I am human. I am fallible. My to do list caught up with me. Another news story wrecked my emotions. Things took longer than I expected or just plain didn’t get done. My son had a rough day (He’s probably as over stimulated as I am). I ran out of good teachable moments for that creepy little Elf. I looked at a calendar and freaked out. Just before bed last night I snapped at my wife. I said I just wanted this holiday season to be over.   Then I felt terrible.  Ashamed.  Broken.

I’d lost it all again. The joy. The Hope. The Peace.

But today is a new day, and with it came with a new song. Fresh words from familiar voices. A renewed call. A new prayer. At a time when I thought I could not longer be surprised, came a new hope. The Spirit moves even in the darkness. God still speaks.

A lonely road, a willing heart
Pray for strength to do your part
You’re almost there, you’re almost there
Trust the Father to provide
Bread of heaven prophesied
You’re almost there, you’re almost there

You’re almost where the waiting ends
Delivering the life within
The answered prayer, Emmanuel
You’re almost there

You’re almost where the journey ends
Where death will die and life begins
The answered prayer, Emmanuel
You’re almost, almost there

A whispered Thank you, left my lips at the echo, “you’re almost there.”

Even when it doesn’t seem like it. Ready or not. Worthy or not. Even on the bad days, the time grows near.

You’re almost there.

The voice drawing my forward, telling me again what’s ahead, what’s at stake, gently pleading we me to hang on, just a little farther. Just a little longer.

You’re almost there.

Accompanied by a reminder that I am not alone. “Trust the father to provide, Bread of Heaven, prophesied.” He’s heard the prayer. And even now the spirit is moving. “The answered prayer, Emmanuel.”

You’re almost there.

And once again, I believe.

We’re almost where the journey ends
Where death will die and life begins
The answered prayer, Emmanuel
We’re almost, almost there

December 19, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

