Wonder Boi Writes

Countdown to Heart of the Game: 6 Weeks

Yes, you read that right, we’ve only got six short weeks until my newest baby is in your hot little hands!  I am so excited.  I’ve been working on this project for more than a year now, and let me tell you, it was fun.  I can’t wait to hear what you all think of it.

Are you just dying to know what it’s about?  Honestly, it doesn’t matter what your answer to that question is because I am dying to tell you, and it’s my blog, so here’s the blurb:

Sometimes baseball is just a metaphor for life, and sometimes it works the other way around.

All Sarah Duke ever cared about was baseball, and she’s finally earned her shot as a full-time sports writer. She loves the work, she loves being one of the few women to ever gain access to a man’s world, but most of all, she loves the game. When Duke meets Molly Grettano and her two sons at the ballpark, she instantly connects with the young family, but Molly isn’t sure Duke’s ready for something more. Molly wants someone softer, more feminine, and more importantly, someone steady. She and her boys have been abandoned before, and she’s vowed to never to put them in that position again. If she were ever to trust anyone, it would have to be someone fully dedicated to her and her children. Duke has a lot of heart, but neither woman is sure there’s enough room left in it for anything other than baseball.

So there you have it. Now can you tell why I am so excited about this one?  Those of you who know me even a little bit or who have even read my full author bio know I’m kind of a baseball nut, or more specifically a St. Louis Cardinals fanatic.  I love the game, and I love that team, so a chance to put myself in that setting for a whole read, even fictionally, was one I really jumped at.   Then as if that wasn’t enough to make me love this book, I also got to throw in a mom.  I always say that being a writer is the coolest job in the world, and that’s true of paying jobs, but the most fun and fulfilling work I’ve ever done is actually parenting.  I genuinely enjoy working with kids, especially my own.  In previous books, I’ve had kids on the periphery, but in this book I get to really revel in the force of nature that is a three-year-old boy.

Baseball, writing, lesbians St. Louis, and kids, oh my!  This book has a lot of me in it, not in that it’s my life so much as it’s my own personal version of awesome.  Of course because it’s also a romance, so even if you are not a sports fan or a big kid yourself, you will get a healthy dose of dykes and drama to round out the plot.   Plus they are sexy, super sexy, so there’s that.  Actually there’s quite a bit of that.

Are you excited yet?

If so, then please feel free to follow along over the next six weeks as I introduce you to the the characters, the settings, and even a few sneak peaks of the story itself.  If you have anything specific you’re just dying to know about the story, its inspiration, or the way it came to be, just ask your questions in the comment section and I’ll pick a couple to answer each week.  Finally, if you are good and pay very close attention, I may just even throw a win-it-before-you-can-buy-it contest your way, so don’t be shy. Click “subscribe.”

January 20, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Well, being a baseball fanatic will forgive the error of your ways in being a Cardinals fan…(Rockies all the way!)…I remember the photo of Jackson’s bed, which was totally awesome! I can’t wait for this book to come out. It combines many of my favorite topics also and it will be just in time to get me really warmed up for the end of spring training and April 2nd! Ona.

    Comment by onamarae | January 21, 2015 | Reply

  2. Rachel, I look forward to the next six weeks and getting to know your characters, plot and environment. Of course being a baseball fan and sports fan in general, I look forward to reading your thoughts and interpretations.

    Comment by Devlyn | January 21, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

