Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs of Christmas – Come All Yes Faithful

We are working on end-of-the​-​year stuff at church.  The youth are directing our Sunday school Nativity play this year.  They are doing such a great job that I’m mostly just taking notes and offering suggestions.  I assume I will also help corral the younger kids the day of the play.  It’s not a glamorous job, but it’s a good one.  One I’m happy to do.

I am also the clerk of session.  For those of you who aren’t Presbyterian, don’t let the fancy title fool you.  I basically take notes and occasionally make suggestions.  This is also not a glamorous job, but once again I’m happy to do it.

Last night we had our end-​of-​the​-​year meeting.  It was a potluck.  I am spread a little thin,​so I ordered some chicken lo mien​, put it​ in a nice bowl and took it to church.  My fellow officers each brought their offerings that ranged from the store bought to the homemade.  All of it was delicious. Jackson joined us because Susie had a meeting, then her meeting got canceled,​ so she just came and joined us, too.  My immediate family sat around a big table with some of our church family.  We’d all brought what we could, we all appreciated what we had.  We laughed and talked and shared stories.  Then we all cleaned up together and carried on with meetings about budgets and charitable giving and general governance of the church.

Nothing extraordinary I suppose, but as I left I kept thinking about our Christmas play, the ones are youth are arranging.  They are going to open by having the whole congregation sing “O ​Come All Ye Faithful.”  We talked about it as a gathering song.  A call to all people of faith to gather together, to worship together, to behold God in our midst together.

I’m not sure many of us realized that’s what we were doing last night.  I doubt I will recognize the act of seeking Emmanuel as I herd elementary and preschool kids on stage. Those little non-glamorous and often thankless jobs rarely seem like acts of faith while we’re doing them.  And yet it’s often in the looking back, the reflecting after the fact, we recognize the presence of God with us.

“When two or more are gathered in my name, there I am among them.”

“Yea Lord we greet thee.” It comes back to Emmanuel, God with us. God with us in the mundane. God with ​u​s in the little jobs. God with us in the moments when we gather together, to work toward a shared​ mission, no matter how great or how small.

So “Come all ye faithful, joyful and triumphant.” Where might you meet God today?

December 10, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Nice. A bit of Anne Murray to brighten my day. God is all around us. Today she was in the smile of the harried barista who tried to keep up with the line of coffee and gift seekers at our local Second Cup. Bless her.

    Comment by canuckeh | December 10, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

