Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs of Christmas – Come and Worship

I am not a fan of the Santa/holly/sexy christmas songs.  I don’t really listen to Christmas on the radio for this reason.  I like the old Christmas hymns.  I like thinking about people several hundred years in the past facing the same problems and insecurities I face.  I like knowing they overcame them by looking the same places I am now.  God with us.

That being said, I don’t just listen to the old arrangements.  I like when people use the ancient themes to and breathe new life in to them.  I like the musical reminders that not only is God still with us, God is still speaking to us, and through us.  I like knowing that an unchanging God is still willing and able to do new things to show us love.

Today’s song offers one such reminder. Come and Worship is a Hymn that’s 200 years old, and yet Bebo Norman has used it to put a very modern arrangement together.  I quite enjoy the result.

Emmanuel, God with us.  Then. Now. Always.

December 17, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

