Wonder Boi Writes

25 Songs of Christmas – Joseph’s Lullaby

I saw Star Wars last night, and I’m not giving an spoilers here, but I am emotionally spent. This morning I talked to Jackson about the movie as best I could. I tried to prepare him without making too many assumption or revealing things that are his to learn in his own time.  He made the decision that he wasn’t ready yet. I am both sad and relieved.  I want him to experience all the things, and yet I also want to protect him as long as I can. Sometimes the hardest part of being a parent is balancing those two impulses.

It was just one little conversation.  One decision among millions, but it’s left me thinking about the nature of parenthood, which lead me right back to the Christmas story. I believe Jesus was both fully God and fully human.  I believe He was begotten of the living, loving creator and of a human being. I believe He was both the origin and the product of every kind of love possible. I think of a God above, a God incarnate, a mother of birth and an earthly father of choice.  I think of that common desire to experience the fullness of humanity and the fears that comes from fully understanding what that fullness entrails.  It brings it all so much closer to home.

That’s essence of parenthood, the essence of love itself, and love is the essence of salvation.

Today’s song is called Joseph’s Lullaby.  Here are the lyrics.

Go to sleep my Son
This manger for your bed
You have a long road before You
Rest Your little head

Can You feel the weight of Your glory?
Do You understand the price?
Or does the Father guard Your heart for now
So You can sleep tonight?

Go to sleep my Son
Go and chase Your dreams
This world can wait for one more moment
Go and sleep in peace

I believe the glory of Heaven
Is lying in my arms tonight
But Lord, I ask that He for just this moment
Simply be my child

Go to sleep my child
Baby close your eyes
Soon enough you’ll save the day but for now dear child of mine
Oh my, Jesus sleep tight.

December 18, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

