Wonder Boi Writes

National Grilled Cheese Day!

Hey folks!

It’s National Grilled Cheese Day!  I’m so excited!  Can’t you tell by all my exclamation points!?!

Okay I’ll stop now, but really, isn’t it grand to know that National Grilled Cheese Day even exists?  I certainly think so. It’s obviously extra special to me this year since we’re in the lead up to the the release of Perfect Pairing because of all the wonderful grilled cheese tie ins to the book.  So, I thought what better way to celebrate than by eating a grilled cheese, (which I encourage you do to no matter what) while reading your own advanced review copy (ARC) of Perfect Pairing?

What’s that you say?  You don’t have an ARC of Perfect Pairing?  Well I do!  For the first time in my whole career I actually have ARCS to share, and what better way to share them than with you, my lovely blog readers.

Perfect-Pairing-2

All you have to do is comment on the blog telling me your favorite cheese and you’ll be entered to win.  I’ll draw a winner out of the hat next week and post the result here.

In the mean time, go get a grilled cheese of your own!

April 12, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

61 Comments »

  1. Pick your favorite cheese sounds like a simple request- but- favorite cheese for what? I love bleu on salads, havarti with dill in grilled cheese, and, lately, it’s been manchego for snacking. Looking forward to the book!!

    Comment by Ann | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  2. Here, you have a french fan!! So when you are talking cheese i say fromage (: cheese)!!
    I would say my favorite cheese is roquefort cheese .

    Comment by Danielle | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  3. Monterey Jack cheese with garlic and herb. Pair that with some roast beef and it makes a perfect grilled cheese. Congrats on the forthcoming book.

    Comment by Beth | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  4. Ohh definitely Swiss and dill pickle slices make an awesome grilled cheese! Congrats on your book and I can’t wait to read it 😊

    Comment by lesficreader | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  5. I took love all kinds of cheese, for salads goat cheese, for sandwiches a nice havarti of jarlsburg. For my grilled cheese I am with Jackson, American all the way!

    Comment by beachwenchHeidi | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  6. Ooh, I like what Ann said, except for me it’s sharp cheddar with tomato on the grilled cheese, or chevre on a pizza.

    Comment by KimMarie Cole | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  7. A sharp hard chedder please.

    Comment by Kerry McNair | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  8. Smoked gouda by a mile!

    Comment by Karen | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  9. My favorite for grilling is the cheese I grew up eating, plain old white American cheese. I now make grilled cheese with flour tortillas instead of bread. Yummy!

    Comment by Mary Anne Frett | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  10. Best for me is Cornish cruncher cheese which is every bit as gorgeous as it sounds when on good white bread, bit of onion and thoroughly toasted…

    Comment by Anne | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  11. PEPPERJACK!!!! #SWEETANDSPICY 😉

    Comment by Denise | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  12. I love grilled cheese! I’m old school. Give me a nice cheddar all gooey and melted between two slices of beautifully carmelized bread, especially a nice honey whole wheat, and I’m in heaven. Maybe some bacon or a slice of tomato if I want to be fancy. BTW I loved your video blog with Jackson and the tip of grilling both sides. Haven’t tried that yet, but oh I will.

    Comment by justdar826 | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  13. I love Brie cheese, it makes the best sandwiches.

    Comment by Dana | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  14. Edam is my ultimate favorite cheese. It really works well with others in blends, for grilled cheese and cooking in general. Cotswold would be a close second favorite.

    Comment by Terry Fountain | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  15. Oh, I like plain old American cheese, but I’m reading so many suggestions that I might branch out! Solves my question of what do I want for lunch!

    Comment by M. E. Logan, Author | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  16. Edam is my favorite cheese. It works well with others in blends in grilled cheese sandwiches, and in general cooking. Cotswold would be a close second favorite.

    Comment by Terry Fountain | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  17. My favourite cheese is blue Stilton. I don’t get to indulge often, my wife can’t stand the smell or taste of it. So if I want some Stilton on a salad or burger perhaps then that means no kisses(or even breathing too close to the mrs), but sometimes sacrifices have to be made for cheese.

    Comment by Danielle | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  18. I love so many cheeses but the one that is always to be found in my fridge is a good, sharp cheddar. Perfect for a grilled cheese sandwich!

    Comment by Tonia Goslett | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  19. Pepper Jack, nothing like adding a touch of spice.

    Comment by Pennie Hancock | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  20. For a grilled cheese sandwich, a blend of Colby and Monterey Jack. (thin mayo on the bread instead of butter). For snacking, Havarti all the way, baby.

    Comment by solargrrl | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  21. Fav cheese? Geez….like a lot of them. For grilled cheese -paper Jack!! But I have to say farmers cheese, use it in original Polish cheesecake and pierogi! I take that over grilled cheese 🙂

    Comment by Kat W. | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  22. I’m plain, I love white American from land o’lakes or boar’s head.

    Comment by xenagirl845 | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  23. Is it really possible to have a favorite when it comes to cheese? I’ll go with Asiago for grilled cheese sandwiches though!

    Comment by Linda Scibilia | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  24. Mmm. Extra old can its cheddar. Alone or made into a grilled cheese that comes off all sophisticated. 🙂

    Comment by canuckeh | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  25. Reblonchon de Savoie. A red cheese with a creamy inside, not ideal for a grilled cheese sandwich.

    Comment by AnnM | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  26. Colby Jack is my favorite cheese.

    Comment by Beth Gais | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  27. My favorite is Vermont White Cheddar. It is so smooth and delicious!!!

    Comment by Abbey Seney | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  28. Havarti!!!

    Comment by nerdgirl1115 | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  29. I love grilled cheese sandwiches! My favorite cheese is mozzarella, please.

    Comment by Beth S. | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  30. Is this a lactose intolerant free zone? LOL
    I like any mild cheese, provolone, pepperjack, Smyrna but blue.
    It really does not like me too much though.

    Comment by Mercedes | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  31. Asking what’s my favorite cheese is rather like asking what’s my favorite book. I’ll say a nice very sharp cheddar for cooking.

    Comment by Jenn | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  32. I like stinky-ass cheese. But my goto, (goto=foot in autocorrect, which serendipitously perfect pairs nicely with stinky cheese. I’ll stop now) anyway, my goto/foot is Jarlsburg.
    And I’m not actually entering this contest (becuz…you know). I just wanted to say hi.

    Comment by Trixie | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  33. Smoked Gouda Cheese… or Smoked Cheddar

    Comment by JJ Crabb | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  34. Smoked gouda makes the best grilled cheese and cheeseburger.

    Comment by Tammie Lynn | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  35. So my favourite is really two depending on if it is an average day (Swiss)?or go nuts on the calories day (Brie). Either one works great in a grilled sandwich.

    Comment by Danielle Z | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  36. My favorite is Pepper Jack and chicken brest . It makes the best grilled cheese ever.

    Comment by pandabree13 | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  37. Just about any cheese is a good cheese. But I suppose Asiago may be my favorite.

    Comment by Erica L Collins | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  38. I’m gonna go Smoked Gouda.

    Comment by Karen | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  39. I Love Wisconsin Cheese!

    Comment by Cherlyn | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  40. Congrats on the new book! I love cheese of all kind and I’m glad to say that my palate has increased as I’ve gotten older. I can never turn down a sharp cheddar 🙂

    Comment by Lisa | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  41. I like both American & Cheddar in my grilled cheese.

    Comment by shentaur | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  42. All you need is tomato soup! Cheddar is my go-to. I like to mix shredded cheeses …. *sigh*

    Comment by MJ | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  43. A sharp English cheddar. But my favorite grilled cheese sandwich is from a restaurant and it has like four different kinds of cheese in it!

    Comment by Yvonne Johnson | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  44. Brie!

    Comment by Kair gebauer | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  45. I love messy egg salad grill cheese sandwiches made with sharp cheddar and swiss or gouda. I like Bleu or goat cheese on my salads and the second best thing about wine tasting is sampling all the different cheeses.

    Comment by Cheryl H | April 12, 2016 | Reply

  46. Considering I’m practically part mouse picking just one cheese is impossible! Any kind of Pepper jack cheese is on the top of the list havarti with jalapeño is the best, and you can never go wrong with cheddar!

    Comment by Breanna | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  47. My favorite cheese is Horseradish cheese. It’s just spicy enough.

    Comment by Lisa Shureb-Burleson | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  48. Wow… Picking just one is hard! For grill cheese sandwiches I like to combine American and Swiss (and love to throw bacon in the mix too). But my “favorite” cheese is probably Pepperjack.

    Comment by Rosa Moran | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  49. Congrats on the publishing of another book Rachel. I love Craft Chedder Cheese best.

    Comment by Devlyn | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  50. Definitely, gorgonzola. Try it on pizza margherita..mouth watering!

    Comment by Elena | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  51. Oh, Swiss cheese for sure.

    Comment by Marie McGhee | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  52. I love smoked gouda but a soft Mexican mix will do as well for a sandwich!
    Ona

    Comment by onamarae | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  53. Havarti for grilled cheese oh may ghad !

    Comment by Jen Vandivier | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  54. My lovely spouse has been making our grilled cheese with Kerrigold Chedder. Kerrigold is from Ireland.They are so good!

    Comment by Pat Bane | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  55. Tillamook’s medium cheddar cheese (and their pepper jack cheese) is my ultimate favorite! It’s super delicious 😀

    Comment by bibliosaurus123 | April 13, 2016 | Reply

    • 56. Goats milk cheese with cranberry or thyme

      Comment by Suzelia | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  56. I really like Asiago cheese.

    Comment by Lisa T. | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  57. Smoked Gouda for snacking and Cheddar for grilled cheese 🙂

    Comment by Sharon | April 13, 2016 | Reply

  58. My favorite is Mozzarella!!!

    Comment by Heather Harper | April 14, 2016 | Reply

  59. I am a big fan of Pepper Jack! The hotter the better. Love it as a grilled cheese with a slice of fresh picked tomato! AND a dill pickle spear!

    Comment by CJ Murphy | April 14, 2016 | Reply

  60. I loves me some goat cheese on an omelet, and blue on a salad (and imported provolone anytime!).

    Comment by Jodi | April 14, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

