Wonder Boi Writes

Christmas Song Blog: Day 5 – Sing Mary Sing

Today’s song is a lesser known piece.  I’m not sure it was supposed to be a Christmas song so much as just a Christian song, but I always listen to it this time of year because it’s about Mary and her baby king.

I like this one because it has a little bit of a bluesy undertone, but it’s not unhappy.  It deals with harsh realities of Mary’s life, the unplanned pregnancy, the homelessness, the fear of Herod’s wrath, and yet at the end of each soulful verse, it returns to a call for Mary to sing anyway.

It goes back to that idea of a Christmas of conflicting emotions.  It doesn’t shy away from everything awful in the world. It doesn’t even suggest we should hide from those things. What to do? What to do?  The answer is to sing. To hope. To pray. To soften what was hardened.

“Soften what was hardened.”  I like that line.

The call isn’t to stop mourning. The call is “Turn now in your mourning. Look to see your savior. Sing, Mary, sing.

I guess that’s what I’m trying to do this year. To turn even in my mourning, to seek my Savior right where I am, and to continue the song.

December 5, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

