Wonder Boi Writes

Christmas Song Blog Day 15 – Joy to the World

Okay, I have been a real downer lately, and I think that’s justifiable, but I also think I need to rage a  little bit against the dying of the light.  Today I was thinking of this Bible verse:

“We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.” 2 Corinthians 4:8-9

And while I have been pretty close to despair lately, I do know that I have not been abandoned.  That’s the theme of my song blogs this year.  That even in the worst of times, especially in the worst of times, there is Emmanuel.  God with us.  Even when there is joy in nothing else, there is joy in that, right?

And just because we feel joy doesn’t mean we stop feeling pain. Sometimes we are only truly capable of feeling joy because we know the opposite end of the spectrum.  Joy in the face of everything good isn’t really that big a deal, but finding joy on the brink of despair can be an act of rebellion. There is nothing homophobes hate more than gay people living happily. There is nothing racists hate more than smiling Black faces. There is something powerful in saying, “Devil, you can’t take my joy.”

Today I am working on finding some of that kind of joy.  It doesn’t mean I am ignoring the pain in the world, or the fear, or the anger burning in me. It just means that I am also doing the important work of making space for something else. And, if you think about it, making room where there doesn’t seem to be any is a big part of the Christmas message.

December 15, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

