Wonder Boi Writes

Christmas Song Blog Day 16 – Grown up Christmas List

Last night we saw Rogue One.  We are Star Wars people (that is an understatement).  I really needed a Star Wars Movie right now. I wanted to see good triumph over evil.  I wanted to see a scrappy band of rebels beat the empire.  I wanted to believe that we could win.

This move did that, but sort of like the Christmas story, it didn’t do it in the way I’d been dreaming of.  I won’t give any spoilers here other than to say the movie is complex.  It is not easy.  It’s one I will be pondering for a long time to come.  I guess that’s par for the course this holiday season.  Getting what one wants and getting what one needs is rarely the same thing.

That being said, the heart of the movie (and again, I’m not giving away anything that’s not been in the trailers) is hope.  Rebellions are built on hope.  The need to protect hope at all costs is the driving force of the movie.  I think it’s also the driving force for me this Christmas, and in a lot of ways it was the driving force of that first Christmas.  Jesus came down in the most unlikely of ways in the most unlikely of places to bring hope to the hopeless.  He showed us that even in the most dire circumstances, there is always hope of something better, something we haven’t even imagined yet.

And while I am lost and sad and scared, I am not without hope.  My faith in Jesus and my understanding of the Christmas story gives me hope that there are things on the horizon that I have not yet dreamed of.

“But now, Lord, what do I look for? My hope is in you.” Psalm 39:7

If rebellions are built on hope, and my hope is in God, that actually makes for a pretty powerful equation.

 

 

December 16, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

