Wonder Boi Writes

Christmas Song Blog Day 17 –Joy Medley

Today is a busy day for the Spangler household.  We are cooking and cleaning, and delivering Pampered Chef orders and Christmas cards, then we are off to a tennis tournament in Buffalo.

It’s nothing major, nothing we’ll likely even remember much of a few months from now.  It’s just one of those days where we get to get a little done and have a little fun as a family.  This season I’m working harder to try to recognize that these are good days.  There have been so many bad days in 2016. And by bad I mean terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days. I have found that the awesome, amazing, fantastic, very good days aren’t enough to even the score this year. This year I am learning that I have to find ways to take joy and comfort in the days when nothing major goes wrong. At first it felt like I was lowering the  bar too much, and I wasn’t sure that was helpful in the long run.

Then one Saturday in November during one of those terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days I got a little wake-up call.  Jackson started vomiting at about 1 am and continued to do so hourly until 6 am. And then our cat died. Susie had to go to church, so it fell to me to dig a grave. We live in a heavily wooded area with our fair share of digging animals, so I had to get down at least 4 feet in an area filled with big, old tree roots. I finally had to text my neighbor to see if he had an auger I could borrow. He didn’t, but he had a fence post digger and a sharp shovel and a willingness to work. We dug for about half an hour, both of us drenched in sweat by the time we finished. At which point I turned to him and said, “Hey, why aren’t you at church this morning?”

He very casually said, “It’s my birthday. My wife and kids gave me the morning off.”

My stomach sank and clenched at the same time.  He’d just spent his birthday morning off digging a grave for my dead cat. I apologized profusely. He just laughed and said, “It’s okay.”

I kept apologizing.

He finally smiled and said, “Any day you get to spend helping someone is a good day.”

Ever since then I’ve been working as hard as I can to remember that lesson and even expand on it.  Any day I help someone is a good day.  Any day I get to talk to a friend is a good day.  Any day I get to spend with my family being happy and healthy is a good day.

I don’t think I am ever going to look back on 2016 as a good year overall, but as I sat down and went through our photos to make our annual year-in-video, keeping those new lessons in mind, I did find that if I looked hard enough and kept the right mindset, I was able to find a lot of those good, quietly happy moments amid the mess and mayhem.

Here are a few of our good moments, in the hopes that they will help you find a few brights spots of your own in these dark days.

 

December 17, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Loved the year in review, thanks for sharing.

    Comment by walnut242 | December 17, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

