Wonder Boi Writes

Christmas Song Blog Day 19 – Peace on Earth/Little Drummer Boy

Another dark day.  I fear the assassination of the Russian Ambassador to Turkey will serve as another Archduke Franz Ferdinand type of moment on the path to a large-scale war.  I pray that I am wrong, but I’ve studied a lot of history, and if history does, in fact, repeat itself, things don’t look good right now.

That thought has led me to reflect on the idea of peace.  On a global scale. I don’t know what that looks like.  The United States had been at war (or war-like states) for more than half of my lifetime.  I started college less than a month before 9/11.  My classmates were the first to go to Afghanistan and then Iraq. I have never known a time in the 15 years since then that I haven’t had a middle school, high school, or college classmate fighting overseas.

I want better for my son.  I want better for all our sons and daughters. I don’t know how to go about that, though.  I look at Russia and Turkey and ISIS and the US’s dependence on foreign oil, and I don’t see any way to avoid more bloodshed.  The only comfort I have right now is knowing that I am not alone.  I know there are other Americans out there who don’t want to rush to war.  I know there are other parents out there working to raise our sons and daughters to value peace, both global and interpersonally.  Most importantly, I know that I have God who so loved us that He sent down Jesus to be our Prince of Peace. I know that if we set aside everything that tries to hurt or divide us and focus exclusively on Jesus’s message of loving God and loving our neighbor, it is virtually impossible to end up at war.

I don’t really know that that’s a reasonable expectation for the world right now, but I do know that God rarely operates based on reasonable expectations. There is nothing reasonable about Christmas, but here we are, bracing to celebrate it even 2,000 years later.  Maybe this time we’ll get it right for once. Peace on earth for my child, and your child, too.

Stranger things have happened.

 

December 19, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

