Summertime Fun

Hey Friends,

Did those of you in the US enjoy your holiday weekend? We spent ours at a baseball game, a T-Ball game and a cook out. And guess what?  It was HOT!  Between the weather and the festivities there was no denying that summer is upon us.

While it doesn’t really seem like we have any real “down” time these days, the first part of the summer is one of our especially hectic seasons.  We’ll be on the road a lot, and most of it will be work focused.  Luckily I have the best job in the world, so my work events also get to be fun events, and I hope you guys will join me in some of that fun. 

Here’s a few of the things I have on my schedule:

June 7th I’ll be the featured author on Beth Wylde’s Pride Month Celebration in her Yahoo group Saphic Planet. This is an internet event, so you can participate from wherever you are in the world.  I’ll be taking questions and maybe throwing out a few of my own.  I’m also going to be giving a way a free copy of LoveLife (or another one of my books), so you won’t want to miss that.  And it’s easy to join in. All you need to do is scoot on over to http://groups.yahoo.com/group/bethwylde/ and join the group.  Plus there’s going to be lots of other great authors there throughout the month who you won’t want to miss.

Next up is the Golden Crown Literary Society’s annual conference. The GCLS Con runs from June 13-17 in Minneapolis. This is one of my favorite events of the year because it offers a wide variety of workshops, panels, and social events. Plus it’s just a great place to hang out with so many of my favorite authors and fellows readers. I’ll get in on Friday morning and jump right in with the Author Auction that morning. At 2:00 that afternoon I’ll be giving my very first sneak peek of my October release Spanish Heart. Then on Saturday I’ll be part of a panel called “Romance: Keeping It Fresh” with Karin Kallmaker, Georgia Beers, Karen Badger, and Kenna White. Finally, I’ll put on my fancy clothes and dancing shoes for the big Awards Ceremony and dance. Trust me, this is one event you do NOT want to miss!

Finally, I’m headed to the Lone Star State in early July where I’ll join forces with fellow Bold Strokes authors, Carsen Taite, Melissa Brayden, and Shelley Thrasher for a reading at Barnes and Noble in Dallas.  This is a fun group of authors and there’s no telling what will come out of our mouths when we all get together, but I’m pretty sure at some point I will try to get everyone to sing “Deep in the Heart of Texas” for me.  If you’re in Texas or up for a road trip, I hope you’ll join us at Barnes & Noble 7700 W. Northwest Highway (across from Northpark Mall) Dallas, Texas 75225 Saturday, July 7TH  at 3:00pm. 

Published by rachelspangler

Rachel Spangler never set out to be an award winning author. She was just so poor and so easily bored during her college years that she had to come up with creative ways to entertain herself, and her first novel, Learning Curve, was born out of one such attempt. She was sincerely surprised when it was accepted for publication and even more shocked when it won the Golden Crown Literary Award for Debut Author. Since writing was turning out to be a real blast, Rachel decided to combine it with another passion and set her next romance on the ski slopes, and was absolutely stunned when her second novel, Trails Merge, won a Goldie in the category of Contemporary Romance. However, no amount of book signing or award winning can really change a Midwestern boi, and her third novel, the Goldie finalist The Long Way Home is just that, a return to the themes and settings that mean the most in Rachel’s life and writing. Her forthcoming novels include LoveLife (April 2011) and Spanish Heart (October 2011), both from Bold Strokes Books. Rachel and her partner, Susan, are raising their young son in small-town western New York, where during the winter they all make the most of the lake effect snow on local ski slopes, and in summer they love to travel and watch their beloved St. Louis Cardinals. Regardless of the season, Rachel always makes time for a good romance, whether she’s reading it, writing it, or living it. Rachel can be found online at www.RachelSpangler.com as well as on Facebook.

Leave a comment